Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Ofem Ubi

ORIGINAL ARTIST: OLLY MURS    ALBUM: 24HRS       SONG: THAT GIRL

November 29 2016 , Written by Ofem Ubi Published on #musical covers

There’s a girl but I let her get away

It’s my entire fault cause I let pride get in the way

And I’ll be lying if I said I was ok

About that girl, the one I let get away

 

 

I muted the voice of conviction steaming out of my lungs

My thoughts were half baked

Cos I was scared and shy to start something new

I stuttered every time I tried to speak about how my heart flips like a toss coin whenever she breathes

I replaced her questions with comedies whenever she noticed the anxiety booming like home theatres on the stage of my forehead

Now I wish she could ask me just one more time

I thought I had no chance when it came to her

I was endlessly hoping one day she would see through my eyes

Read the anthologies and musical albums scripted by the ink of my ribs and carefully arranged in the library of my heart stores in order of time, place and condition

Each day with her had a shelf regardless the time and circumstance

Friends said “Tell her”

But I said “Tomorrow” 

And so many Tomorrows passed away like invincible smoke escaping from fire trying to hug the envious sky

Every sunrise and set was a reminder to the truth that she was slipping away like red wine into a more concrete bottle cos I already had cracks on my skin

Now my life’s a broken clock

Wishing I could repair time and turn back its hands to just 60 seconds more

Rewind back my past tomorrow’s, compress them in to 60 seconds

Amplify my voice louder than a lavaliere

Speak with boldness gushing out of my windpipe

I was scared of rejection and failure

Forgetting that the only failure was never to try

We were just too close that both hearts became siblings

So seeing her from the other side became nothing but cooperate incest

I should have spoken when I had the chance

Now she’s gone like a candle in the wind

And here I stand drenched in tears watching her from afar like a mirage

Stepping into the coast of another

 

 

Speak up if you love somebody

Can’t let them get away

You don’t wanna end up sorry

The way that I’m feeling everyday

  No home for the brokenhearted

No home for me

No room to breathe

And I’ve got none to blame

You don’t wanna lose that love

Its only gonna hurt so much

ORIGINAL ARTIST: OLLY MURS    ALBUM: 24HRS       SONG: THAT GIRL
Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post