Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Ofem Ubi

Deadbeat

October 8 2017 , Written by Ofem Ubi Published on #poetry

I still feel your heartbeat in my breast pocket

And the scent of your perfume still crawls on my skin like an overlapped signature

I still see a sketch of you in the sun

And I’m wearing the last pair of smiles you gave me

I still use our favorite emoji’s

And my cell still dances at the sound of your laughter

I still stare at your side of the bed

It’s sad how it now carries the feel of winter

I still see your shadow in the folds of the curtains

Just like the times we played hide and seek

The keyboard still misses your fingers

And It plays itself to tears in the presence of your absence

It’s funny how the mirror still shows your reflection when i stare at it

It’s funny how the dishes and cuttleries still rattle in joy prepping to be blessed by your freshly made meals

It’s funny how I still feel your nibbles on the tip of my ears every morning

It’s funny how my scalp still misses the warmth of your fingers

It’s funny how these hands that once held your body

Now hold your ashes

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post