Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Ofem Ubi

BARE(embrace the flaws)

May 4 2017 , Written by Ofem Ubi Published on #poetry, #BlackPower, #theEYEandI

My cupboard is filled up

With a leech of lies

My shoes are filled with false pride

And there’s a fleet of confusion in my sternum

There’s traffic in my mind

No escape route this time

I should have listened

When conscience spoke like gentle storm

I should have obeyed

When my legs were swollen in doubt

Telling me that I couldn’t keep up with being china product

When I had everything attainable to become original

I should have read the signs

When my feet sneezed every time I walked steps closer to being someone else

Now I stand lost,

A silhouette of myself

Clothed in regret

With shadow ashamed of who I have become

 It was never worth the fade after all

So I prefer the old me

Content with the little life gave me

When I was me with no subtitle

Take me back to the old me

Bare as I can be

Muse - Ofem Ubi

Photographer - Otome Onoge

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post