Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Ofem Ubi

The 90's Romance

October 13 2017 , Written by Ofem Ubi Published on #poetry

Love me like the 90s

Take me back to  black and white

Remind my ears of Truth

And the days it was precious as gold

 

Love me like the 90s

Where we stayed under almond trees

And built our castles in the sand

With dreams as furniture

 

Love me like the 90s

Where parents were aware of our secrets

And we never tiptoed or flew through windows

When our emotions were legal and endorsed

 

Love me like the 90s

Where our love was gospel

And our dancing eyes were the sermon

Where we wore smiles as garment

 

Love me like the 90s

Where our private parts were  private

Never saw our waistlines

We only knew us when ring fingers nodded

 

Love me like the 90s

Where pocket was basket

Sincerity was currency

And we never followed society’s commandments

 

Love me like the 90s

Not like the teens

Where true love is taboo

A sacrilege punishable by heartbreak

 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post