Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Ofem Ubi

HEART STEWARDS

February 27 2017 , Written by Ofem Ubi Published on #poetry

She’s just too beautiful

Her eyes are two bright stars on a scary midnight

And the retinas in them are waves giving signals to the antennas of every other Adam she sets eyes on

She has dimples

Deep enough to hide her frowns when she stretches her jawbones to export smiles from the nation of her cheeks

She has folds of skin carefully placed on her forehead

For hers is a face lift surgery made before birth

She is the inspiration behind Ed’s Shape Of You

And her footsteps are tiptoes into the glimpse of Mother Africa

She’s fragile glass

Plays like a child

Which makes it easy for her to bury grudges like high classified secrets

Her voice reminds you of hope even when hope itself grows hopeless

Friends say I am lucky to have her

That I am blessed to be the moonlight she chooses to lay gaze upon

When they are other sunlight faces she could delightfully behold

They say I am favored to have had my application endorsed

When there were better applicants for the post of heart stewardship

With even better CVs than I do

Well, they see well

But not beyond what the binoculars of their eyes can travel

For no one sees the thorns that wrap me like blanket whenever she hugs the others

No one sees the pores in my eardrums whenever I hear her name screamed from end to end

I am fed up of her meet and greet sessions but who am I to utter

I have grown accustomed to silence

Because I fear to speak out my grievances

I never know what her response might be because I dare not lose this princess for a session of quarantined grief

So I hide under the umbrella of a quiet personality

Fear grips me

And sometimes I wished I were the only male in the planet

But here’s the reality of it…

 

 

PS- Girls will always be clustered upon

What more the evidently beautiful ones

So to the Adams with Angels disguised as eves

Learn to deal with it

And pray virtue is her 3square meal

Else you’ll starve 

Perhaps you may drink your tears for desert

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post