Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Ofem Ubi

BARE(embrace the flaws)

April 29 2017 , Written by Ofem Ubi Published on #poetry, #BlackPower, #Bare

Every time I sit reminiscing of me being Moses

Drawn out from the first seed my Mother ever nurtured

As I look back with a multitude of four holding the hem of my garment

Will I ever part this red sea of expectations?

Is the rod in my hand potent enough to break my fear like bread?

Will I ever see Canaan?

And do my parents bank their hope on me who is yet guaranteed of a sunny sky

My vision is blur

Even a thousand lenses can’t capture this state of chaos I drown in

All the world sees is a fresh black bearded youth

But beneath are strands of anxiety dragged daily into the mud

My hope sits on a wheel chair

And there’s none to steer me into the river when it is troubled

My mind is crowded

Starving needing to be fed with assurance

Perhaps 5 loaves of strength and 2 lifelines

And don’t worry; I could still keep the fragments

To keep me sane and healthy

To fill me when empty

Bare as I can be

Muse -Ushie  Bernard 

Photographer - Otome Onoge

  

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post